Notice: Undefined property: SodMysqliDb::$_paramTypeList in /home1/mrpamgov/public_html/invest_html/system/classes/class.database.php on line 217

Notice: Undefined property: SodMysqliDb::$_whereTypeList in /home1/mrpamgov/public_html/invest_html/system/classes/class.database.php on line 226

The Governance

Mongolia is a parliamentary republic. The Parliament is elected by the people and in turn elects the government. The President is elected directly. Mongolia's constitution guarantees freedom of expression, religion, and others rights. Mongolia has a number of political parties, the largest two parties being the Mongolian People’s Party (MPP) and the Democratic Party (DP).

Mongolia uses a unicameral parliamentary system in which the President has a symbolic role and the government exercises executive power. The legislative arm, the State Great Khural, has one chamber with 76 seats and is chaired by the speaker of the Parliament. It elects its members every four years by general elections. The last parliamentary elections were held in June 2016. The MPP won 65 seats out of 76. The current Chairman is Enkhbold Meyeegombo.

Although Mongolia's President has a largely symbolic role, the president can block the Parliament's decisions through veto powers, which requires a two-thirds majority of parliament to override. The President is also required to formally resign his or her party membership. The current President is Elbegdorj Tsakhia. He was re-elected as a result of the 2013 presidential election.

The Prime Minister of Mongolia is appointed by the State Great Khural. The ministers of each of the Ministries constitute the prime minister's Cabinet. The Cabinet is nominated by the prime minister in consultation with the President and appointed by the State Great Khural. A new cabinet led by the Erdenebat Jargaltulga as Prime Minister.